I Know We Just Met, But I Love You Already

Dear West Side Market,

I know we just met, but I love you already. I have often dreamed of being neighbors with a market like you. Dare I say, I have even fantasized about strolling your aisles, lazily running my fingers across your vine ripe produce, the strap of my reusable grocery bag sliding from my shoulder as I ponder the perfect place to begin.

But even in my most elaborate fantasies I never envisioned all you have to offer a girl like me. I must confess that your pork, poultry, and grain fed beef took me by surprise.

Quail eggs? Oh my!

I thought those were reserved for late night cooking shows, not something to discover and experience first hand. Fantasy lover that I am, even I would not have envisioned free-range Amish eggs, tempeh, or a rainbow assortment of lentils.

You temptress you!

In time I’m sure to uncover your flaws, perhaps on a Tuesday or Thursday when your doors are locked and guests are arriving to dine… but for today I am in love with you and your enormous blue recycling containers conveniently located in the parking lot.

Love,

The New Kid on the Block

 P.S. Parking Garage not connected to my building – we have to talk!

Click The Pic to Learn More

12 thoughts on “I Know We Just Met, But I Love You Already

  1. You must try:

    Franks Bratwurst – with kraut on either hard/soft roll, horseradish, brown mustard

    Irene Dever Dairy – pierogis, fresh yogurt, butter

    Czuchuraj – fresh garlic kielbasa, various jerky

    • Thanks Paul. I’ll be heading back there next week (if not this weekend).I’ll be sure to go hungry and check out Franks Bratwurst just like you’ve described. Sounds so yummy my tummy is rumbling! Now what can I snack on around here?

  2. Thanks, Gail. What a lovely ode to a special place.
    —Marilou Suskzo, coauthor of “Cleveland’s West Side Market: 100 Years & Still Cooking.”

  3. Pingback: $50 Bounty at West Side Market « A Slammin' Adventure

  4. Pingback: Saw my CLE on the Food Network (and giggled) « A Slammin' Adventure

  5. Pingback: Saw my CLE on the Food Network (and giggled) | A Slammin' Adventure

  6. Pingback: $50 Bounty at West Side Market | A Slammin' Adventure

Comments are closed.