You Know You’re a Writer When…

You Know You’re a Writer When…

It’s 2:00 am and your building fire alarm is going off for the first time since you moved in.

You quickly get dressed for the cold night air that will embrace you if the alarm is real.

Despite the interruption to the best REM sleep you’ve had in weeks, you’re clear-headed enough to know you shouldn’t spend time gathering belongings; everything is replaceable.

On the way out the door you grab two things you always knew were important:

1) Your Wallet

2) Your Car Keys

And then it occurs to you that there is one more thing, one irreplaceable thing, worth the risk. You add a third item to the mental list and grab it on your way past your writing desk:

3) Your Portable Hard Drive

If you’re lucky, you’ll find yourself back in bed in 20 minutes with a brand new understanding of the important things in your life.

I’m one lucky writer!

When is the last time you backed up your writing?

What would you grab on the way out the door if you weren’t 100% sure you’d be back?

5 thoughts on “You Know You’re a Writer When…

  1. 1. The Pugs (All 5)! There is a lifevest story there!
    2. My phone (because I don’t know anyone’s number by heart anymore)
    3. Wallet (Id , money, health insurance)

  2. I know I don’t back up what I write enough. I’ve had a few mishaps with hard drive failures. I do, however, tend to email things to people for them to read. I must get into a habit of emailing things to myself more often, too. They’re always retrievable that way.
    I myself value my wallet above all else: identification cards etc are a ****** to get back. That, and a jumper: it’ll be cold out. My phone is just an added bonus. It’s not the centre of my world or even close.

    I will add, however, that I’m a nocturnal writer. 2 am comes, an alarm goes and I’ll be the first out the building: I wouldn’t have gone to sleep yet and I’d still be dressed.

Comments are closed.